



# National Preparedness and Response Science Board Inaugural Public Meeting Summary Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Hubert H. Humphrey Federal Building 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington DC 20004 Conference Room 800, Floor 8

9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. ET

Call-in: 1-888-323-9875, International Dial-in: 1-312-470-7394 Participant Passcode: 4649130

# **NPRSB Voting Members Present**

Steve Krug, Chair John Bradley Virginia Caine

Prabha Fernandes

Ross LeClaire

Gray Heppner

Noreen Hynes

Eva Lee

Kenneth Miller

Catherine Slemp

Tammy Spain

David Weinstock

### **NPRSB Ex Officio Members Present**

Stephen Redd (CDC) Bonnie Richter (DoE Alternate)

### **Call to Order and NPRSB Introductions**

Evelyn Seel, MPH, Acting Executive Director, NPRSB Designated Federal Official CDR, U.S. Public Health Service U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

CDR Evelyn Seel called the meeting to order, and welcomed the Board members, ex-officios, public and members of the National Advisory Committee on Children and Disasters in attendance to the inaugural ceremony for new members. She proceeded to take roll for the NPRSB members in attendance and via teleconference. CDR Evelyn Seel introduced Dr. Sally Phillips, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy.

# Introduction of the Acting ASPR, George W. Korch, Jr., Ph.D.

Sally Phillips, RN, Ph.D.

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Sally Phillips thanked the members of the NPRSB for their service to the Department of Health and Human Services and the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR). Dr. Phillips introduced Dr. George Korch Jr., the Acting ASPR, and provided a brief overview of his background.

### **Presentation and Remarks**

George W. Korch Jr., Ph.D. Acting Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. George Korch welcomed the incoming members to the NPRSB and thanked the retiring members for their commitment and dedication while serving on the Board. Dr. Korch thanked the Board for their tremendous work on public health emergency preparedness and response issues. He highlighted some the accomplishments of the retiring members which included providing recommendations to the Secretary of HHS and/or the ASPR on medical countermeasures, community health resilience, the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasure Enterprise (PHEMCE) Strategy and Implementation Plan and the Strategic National Stockpile.

## **Acknowledgement to Retiring NPRSB Members**

Dr. Korch acknowledged the following NPRSB retiring voting members: Drs. David Ecker and David Weinstock. He stated that both members contributed to a number of reports, recommendations and work groups.

## Acknowledgement and Swearing-in of New and Reappointed NPRSB Members

Dr. Korch welcomed the NPRSB's two newly appointed voting members, Drs. Kenneth Miller and Prabhavathi Fernandes. He also congratulated the four members on their re-appointment to the Board. Those members include: Drs. Virginia Caine, Noreen Hynes, Catherine Slemp and Tammy Spain.

Shelley Pree, Deputy Director, Washington Human Resources Service Center, swore in the following members of the Board:

- Virginia Caine, M.D.
- Prabhavathi Fernandes, Ph.D.
- Noreen Hynes, M.D., M.P.H.
- Kenneth Miller, M.D., Ph.D.
- Catherine Slemp, M.D., M.P.H.
- Tammy Spain, Ph.D.

## **Public Comment Period and NPRSB Chair Remarks**

Steven Krug, MD Chair, NPRSB

CDR Evelyn Seel introduced Dr. Steve Krug, Chair of the NPRSB, for the public comment period and closing remarks. The NPRSB received one public comment from the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB). CDR Seel read the comment to the Board members and the public. Dr. Krug thanked the AABB for their comment and acknowledged that the nation's blood supply is of great concern to the nation's healthcare preparedness. He then thanked everyone for attending the NPRSB 2017 Inaugural Meeting.

CDR Seel adjourned the meeting at approximately 10:45 A.M. Eastern time.

3