Public Meeting Summary¹

Friday, January 30, 2015
Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Federal Building
200 C Street, SW, Washington DC 20024
Lower Level -L1J13 / S103 – Willow Conference Room
9:00 am – 11:00 am ET

Call-in: 1-888-946-7304, International Dial-In: 1-212-547-0362, Public Passcode: 7491964

NPRSB Voting Members Present

John Parker, Chair
John Bradley
Virginia Caine
David Ecker
Emilio Emini
Manohar Furtado
Noreen Hynes
Steven Krug
Sarah Park
Catherine Slemp

Tammy Spain
David Weinstock

NPRSB Ex Officio Members Present

Sam Groseclose (CDC Alternate)
Randall Levings (USDA)
Laurel Miner (DOC Altlernate)
Bonnie Richter (DoE Alternate)
Bruce Roscio (DoS Alternate)
Marc Shepanek (NASA Alternate)

Presenters Present

Nicole Lurie, Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response Edward Gabriel, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response Dan Dodgen, Acting Deputy Director, Office of Policy and Planning

NPRSB Staff Present

Charlotte Spires, Executive Director
Jyl Woolfolk, Senior Policy Analyst
Evelyn Seel, Policy Analyst
Maxine Kellman, Biotechnology Policy Analyst
Belinda Green, Program Policy Analyst
Miesha Dockery, Program Analyst
Ayah Wali, Senior Management Analyst
Justin Willard, Management Analyst II
Daniel Flynn, Intern

¹ A full transcript of these proceedings may be found at http://www.phe.gov/Preparedness/legal/boards/nprsb/meetings/Pages/150130meeting.aspx

Call to Order and NPRSB Introductions

Charlotte Spires, DVM, MPH, DACVPM, Executive Director, NPRSB CAPT, U.S. Public Health Service
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

CAPT Charlotte Spires called the meeting to order, and welcomed the Board members, ex-officios, public and everyone in attendance to the inaugural ceremony of new members. She proceeded to take roll for all National Preparedness and Response Science Board (NPRSB) members present in-person and via teleconference. CAPT Spires introduced Dr. John Parker, the current and outgoing Chair of the NPRSB and provided a brief background of his current work and prior experience.

Welcoming Remarks

John S. Parker, MD, Major General (Retired) Chair, NPRSB

Dr. John Parker thanked CAPT Spires for the introduction. Dr. Parker acknowledged his retirement as Chair of the NPRSB, welcomed the incoming new members and introduced Dr. Steven Krug as the new incoming Chair. Dr. Parker expressed gratitude for being part of the Board, and wished the new Board members well. Dr. Parker then introduced Dr. Dan Dodgen, Acting Deputy Director in the Office of Policy and Planning.

Introduction of Dr. Nicole Lurie, M.D., M.S.P.H.

Dan Dodgen, Ph.D.

Acting Deputy Director, Office of Policy and Planning

Dr. Dan Dodgen introduced Dr. Nicole Lurie, the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, and provided a brief overview of her background.

ASPR Presentation to NPRSB Members

Nicole Lurie, M.D., M.S.P.H. Assistance Secretary for Preparedness and Response Rear Admiral, U.S. Public Health Service U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Lurie thanked Dr. Dodgen for the introduction. She thanked the retiring members for their dedication while serving on the Board, and welcomed the incoming members. Dr. Lurie expressed the importance of the work being done by the Board at ASPR and HHS, including the recommendations and reports on key issues. She highlighted some of the accomplishments of the retiring members which included recommendations to the ASPR and Secretary of HHS on the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise (PHEMCE), use of anthrax vaccines in children, science preparedness and community health resilience. Dr. Lurie thanked Dr. Parker for his continued dedication and leadership throughout his tenure as Chairman of the Board, and thanked the remaining retiring members for their service and contributions.

Acknowledgement to Retiring NPRSB Members with Special Acknowledgement of General John S. Parker

The NPRSB and ASPR took a brief moment to honor Dr. Parker for his dedication and leadership. Each of the retiring members spoke briefly about their experiences working on the Board with Dr. Parker. CAPT Spires presented Dr. Parker with a gift from Board for his devoted guidance and service.

Dr. Lurie acknowledged NPRSB's retiring voting members: Drs. Steven Krug, John Bradley, Nelson Chao, Emilio Emini, Manohar Furtado, Sarah Park and John Parker. Dr. Lurie recognized the retiring members of the Board by presenting a letter of appreciation, and thanking them for their service.

Acknowledgement and Swearing in of New NPRSB Voting Members

Dr. Lurie welcomed the NPRSB's five newly appointed voting members and two re-appointed members*: Drs. Christina Egan, D. Gray Heppner, Ross LeClaire, Eva Lee, Sharon Stanley, John Bradley², and Steven Krug³. Dr. Lurie administered the oath.

Dr. Lurie swore in the following members of the Board:

- John Bradley, M.D.
- Christina Egan, Ph.D.
- D. Gray Heppner, M.D.
- Steven Krug, M.D.
- Ross LeClaire, DVM, Ph.D., M.S.S.
- Eva Lee, Ph.D.
- Sharon Stanley, Ph.D., RN

Dr. Parker thanked Dr. Lurie.

Remarks from Mr. Edward J. Gabriel

Edward J. Gabriel, MPA, EMT-P, CEM, CBCP Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response

CAPT Charlotte Spires introduced Edward Gabriel, the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response. Mr. Gabriel thanked CAPT Spires for the introduction and welcomed everyone. He thanked Dr. Parker for his work on the Board and noted that Dr. Parker would be greatly missed. Mr. Gabriel gave a background of his career. He discussed policy and recommendations and encouraged members to use their experiences. He challenged the Board to think outside of their scientific expertise and consider the expectations of citizens and families when making recommendations and how they would apply. Mr. Gabriel welcomed the NPRSB members to come talk to him, welcomed the new Chair, and gave a farewell to the outgoing members. He thanked CAPT Spires for giving him the time to speak.

Public Comment Check (via Email)

CAPT Charlotte Spires, DVM, MPH, DACVPM Executive Director, NPRSB

No public comments were received via email.

Wrap-Up and Remarks

New Chair, NPRSB

Dr. John Parker thanked everyone for the opportunity to serve as Chair of the NBSB/NPRSB and provided some parting words to both current and retiring members. He stated that the new Chairman, Dr. Steven Krug, would provide great leadership. Dr. Krug thanked the retiring members whom he served on the Board with for the past few years and wished them well moving forward in their

endeavors.. Dr. Krug reiterated that the NPRSB is an advisory board, and emphasized how the NPRSB plays a great role in the work done at ASPR and HHS.

CAPT Spires adjourned the meeting at approximately 11:00 A.M.

^{*}Re-appointed members: John Bradley, M.D.

^{*}New appointed Chairman: Steven Krug, M.D.