Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Independent Panel Members

Report of the Independent Panel on the HHS Ebola Response

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) asked CNA to convene an independent panel of public health, healthcare, emergency response, and communication experts to review HHS's international and domestic responses to the Ebola epidemic of 2014–2016.  The following panel of experts contributed to the resulting Report of the Independent Panel on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Ebola Response.

  • Dr. Jonathan Fielding (Panel Chair), Distinguished Professor of Health Policy and Management, and Pediatrics in the University of California, Los Angeles, Fielding School of Public Health and Geffen School of Medicine; former Director of the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health; former Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • Admiral Thad Allen, U.S. Coast Guard (Ret.); former National Incident Commander for the unified response to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill; former Principal Federal Official for the U.S. government’s response and recovery operations following Hurricanes Katrina and Rita throughout the Gulf Coast region
  • Dr. Benjamin Chu, President of the Southern California Region, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Hospitals; former President of New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation; former chair of the American Hospital Association Board of Trustees
  • Ms. Julia Galdo, Managing Director (Retired), Health Communication and Social Marketing (Retired), American Institutes for Research; co-author of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC’s) Crisis and Emergency Risk Communication
  • Dr. Helene Gayle, Chief Executive Officer of the McKinsey Social Initiative; former President and Chief Executive Officer of CARE; former Director of the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention at CDC and Assistant Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS)

  • This page last reviewed: June 30, 2016