Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Regional Emergency Coordinators

Regional Emergency Coordinators (RECs) serve as ASPR’s primary representatives throughout the country at the regional level. Building relationships with federal, state, local, tribal and territorial officials and healthcare representatives (partners and stakeholders) in order to conduct planning for effective federal emergency response, and to facilitate coordinated preparedness and response activities for public health and medical emergencies, is the main role of the RECs.  This is accomplished in a variety of ways to include: enhancing cross discipline integration among public health and medical and emergency management partners; providing situational awareness to headquarters;  responding  to events and providing command and control for deployed Departmental resources and assets; and providing exercise support  to stakeholders.  

The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) and its predecessor organizations have placed emergency coordinators in each of the Health and Human Services (HHS) regions for over 15 years.  Today, there are RECs throughout the country, and each region has its own unique regional preparedness concerns. With a wide variety of backgrounds including healthcare, emergency management, environmental health, public administration, human services, public health, and engineering, the RECs offer a wealth of skills and experience in emergency planning and response. For more information about the program, please contact us via the Regional Emergency Coordinators Comment Form.


Region 1 (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r1contacts.html
John F. Kennedy Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street, Suite 2100
Boston, MA 02203

Gary J. Kleinman (Regional Administrator)
Office: 617-565-1159
Fax: 615-622-0252
Gary.Kleinman@hhs.gov

Gregory T. Banner MS, CEM
Office: 617-565-1485
Gregory.Banner@hhs.gov

Mark C. N. Libby RN, EMT-P
Office: 617-565-1481
Mark.Libby@hhs.gov

Region 2 (NY, NJ, PR, VI)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r2contacts.html
26 Federal Plaza, Room 38-100
New York, NY 10278

Murad Raheem (Regional Administrator)
Office: 212-264-4494
Fax: 212-264-3424
Murad.Raheem@hhs.gov

CDR Andrew Chen
Office: 212-264-2745
Andrew.Chen@hhs.gov

Robert L. Rascher
Office: 212-264-2744
 

Region 3 (DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, WV)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r3contacts.html
150 S. Independence Mall West, Suite 429
Philadelphia, PA 19106

Harry Mayer (Regional Administrator)
Office: 215-861-4413/4833
Fax: 215-861-4363
Harry.Mayer@hhs.gov

Emily Falone
Office: 215-861-4390
Emily.Falone@hhs.gov

CAPT Stephen Formanski
Office: 215-861-4398
Stephen.Formanski@hhs.gov

National Capitol Region (select jurisdictions of MD, VA and all of DC)
200 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20201

Glenn Blanchette
Office: 202-205-0717
Fax: 202-260-6056
Glenn.Blanchette@hhs.gov

Region 4 (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r4contacts.html
61 Forsyth Street, SW Suite 5B-95
Atlanta, GA 30303

CAPT William Greim (Acting Regional Administrator)
Office: 404-562-7679
Fax: 404-562-7913
William.Greim@hhs.gov

Jeanne Eckes
Office: 404-562-7937

Dara-Leigh Spector
Office: 404-562-7911
Dara-Leigh.spector@hhs.gov

CAPT Charles Weir
Office: 404-562-7636
Charles.weir@hhs.gov

Region 5 (IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r5contacts.html
233 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 1300
Chicago, IL 60601

Carl Adrianopoli (Regional Administrator)
Office: 312-353-4515
Fax: 312-353-3923
Carl.Adrianopoli@hhs.gov

CAPT Janet Odom
Office: 312-886-0696
Janet.Odom@hhs.gov

Diane Smith (Admin. Asst.)
Office: 312-353-9763
Diane.Smith@hhs.gov
 

 

Region 6 (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r6contacts.html
MSC Dallas, 854 Avenue R
Grand Prairie, TX 75050

CAPT Mick Cote (Regional Administrator)
Office: 972-606-2869
Fax: 972-606-8940
Mick.Cote@hhs.gov

CAPT Louis A. Lightner, Jr., PE
Office: 972-606-6472
Louis.Lightner@hhs.gov

CDR Mark Byrd
Office: 972-606-2869
Mark.Byrd@hhs.gov

CAPT Amy O. Taylor
Office: 972-606-6190
AmyO.Taylor@hhs.gov

Region 7 (IA, KS, MO, NE)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r7contacts.html
601 E. 12th Street, Room S1801
Kansas City, MO 64106

CAPT Dana L. Hall (Regional Administrator)
Office: 816-426-2828
Fax: 816-426-2834
Dana.Hall@hhs.gov

CAPT Chris Kates
Office: 816-426-2833
Chris.Kates@hhs.gov

CAPT Scott Lee
Office: (816) 426-3490
Scott.Lee@hhs.gov

Region 8 (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r8contacts.html
999 18th Street, South Terrace, Suite 450
Denver, CO 80202

CDR Ronald R. Pinheiro (Regional Administrator)
Office: 303-844-7273
Fax: 303-844-7274
Ronald.Pinheiro@hhs.gov

LCDR John Gibbons
Office: 303-844-7272
John.gibbons@hhs.gov

Ken Sturrock
Office:  303-844-7249
Kenneth.sturrock@hhs.gov

Region 9 (AZ, CA, HI, NV, Guam, American Samoa, CNMI, FSMI, RMI, Palau)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r9contacts.html
90 7th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103

Regional Administrator:  Vacant

Jerold Fenner
Office: 415-437-8386
Jerold.Fenner@hhs.gov

CDR Erik Vincent
Office: 415-437-8386
Erik.Vincent@hhs.gov

Tony Voirin 
Office:  415-437-8387
Anthony.voirin@hhs.gov

Region 10 (AK, ID, OR, WA)
http://www.hhs.gov/about/regions/r10contacts.html
2201 Sixth Avenue, Mailstop 20
Seattle, WA 98121

Rick Buell (Regional Administrator)
Office: 206-615-3600
Fax: 206-615-2481
Rick.Buell@hhs.gov

David Kerschner
Office: 206-615-2506
David.Kerschner@hhs.gov

Andrew Stevermer
Office: 206-615-2266
Andrew.Stevermer@hhs.gov

 

  • This page last reviewed: June 03, 2014