Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

ASPR Leadership Biographies

The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) was created under the Pandemic and All Hazards Preparedness Act in the wake of Katrina to lead the nation in preventing, preparing for, and responding to the adverse health effects of public health emergencies and disasters. ASPR focuses on preparedness planning and response; building federal emergency medical operational capabilities; countermeasures research, advance development, and procurement; and grants to strengthen the capabilities of hospitals and health care systems in public health emergencies and medical disasters. The office provides federal support, including medical professionals through ASPR’s National Disaster Medical System, to augment state and local capabilities during an emergency or disaster. 
Learn More >>

Immediate Office:

Picture of Robert Kadlec
Robert P. Kadlec,
M.D., MTM&H, M.S.,

Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response


Picture of Dr. Kevin Yeskey
Kevin Yeskey,
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness & Response

Picture of Chris Meekins
Chris Meekins
Deputy Assistant Secretary and
Chief of Staff

Picture of Edward J. Gabriel
Edward J. Gabriel,
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Incident Command and Control


Office of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA):

Picture of Rick Bright
Rick Bright, Ph.D.,
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
and Director of Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority

Picture of Gary Disbrow
Linda C. Lambert,
Principal Deputy Director Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority


Picture of Gary Disbrow
Gary L. Disbrow, Ph.D.,
Acting Deputy Director Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority

Picture of Dr. Robert Johnson
Robert Johnson, Ph.D.,
Director, Influenza and Emerging Infectious Diseases Division

  Picture of Rodney Wallace
Rodney Wallace, B.S.,
Acting Director of the Division of Diagnostics and Medical Devices

Picture of Jonathan Seals
Jonathan Seals, Ph.D.,
Acting Director for Strategic Science and Technology

Picture of Robert Walker
Robert Walker, M.D.,
Acting Chief Medical Officer and Acting Director of the Division of Clinical Studies


 Picture of Deb Yeskey
Debra Yeskey, Pharm.D.,
Director for Regulatory and Quality Affairs


Office of Emergency Management (OEM):

Picture of Dr. Boyce
Don Boyce, J.D.,
Deputy Assistant Secretary
and Director


Picture of Mike Vineyard
Michael L. Vineyard,
Deputy Director


Picture of Jessica Fantinato
Jessica Fantinato,
Deputy Director

Picture of Joseph Lamana
Joseph P. Lamana,
Director for Operations


Picture of Victor Harper
Victor Harper,
Director for Logistics


Picture of Dennis FitzGerald
Denis FitzGerald, M.D.,
Director of Partner Readiness and Emergency Programs (PREP)

Photo of Joshua Barnes
Joshua Barnes,
Acting Director of Recovery 


Thomas A. Leinberger
Thomas A. Leinberger,
Director of Planning


Melissa Harvey, R.N.
Melissa Harvey, R.N.,
Director of the Division of National Healthcare Preparedness Programs

Picture of Steve Curren
Steve Curren, MSFS,
Director for the Division of Resilience


 Picture of U.S. Flag
Ron Miller,
Director of the Division of the National Disaster Medical System



Office of Acquisitions Management, Contracts & Grants (AMCG):

Picture of Jess Scarbrough
Jess Scarbrough,
M.S.S., M.B.A., D.A.C.M.,



Picture of Schuyler T. Eldridge, IV
Schuyler T. Eldridge, IV, M.B.A,
Deputy Director


Picture of U.S. Flag
Linda Luczak,
Chief Contracting Officer
Division Chief,  BARDA Support

Picture of Makoto P. Braxton
Makoto P. Braxton,
Chief Contracting Officer
Division Chief, ASPR Support


Picture of U.S. Flag
Virginia Simmons,
Chief Grants Management Officer
Office of the Assistants Secretary for Preparedness and Response

   Picture of U.S. Flag
Cassandra R. Freeman, M.S., M.S.A.,
Director, Acquisition Policy
Acting Director, Acquisition Program Support Division

Office of Policy and Planning (OPP): 

Picture of Dr. Sally Phillips
Sally Phillips, R.N., Ph.D.,
Deputy Assistant
Secretary for Policy


Picture of Jack Herrmann, MSEd, NCC, LMHC Deputy Director Office of Policy and Planning
Jack Herrmann,
M.S.Ed., N.C.C., L.M.H.C.,

Deputy Director
Office of Policy and Planning

Picture of Dr. Daniel Dodgen, PhD
Daniel Dodgen, Ph.D.,
Director, At-Risk, Behavorial Health and Community Resilience

Picture of  CAPT. Theresa Lawrence
Theresa Lawrence,
Director, Division of Biosafety, Biosecurity, and Countering
Biological Threats


Picture of Dr. Maria Julia Marinissen 
Maria Julia Marinissen, Ph.D.,
Director, Division of International Health Security



Office of Financial Planning and Analysis (OFPA):

Picture of Jay Petillo
Jay Petillo, M.P.P.,


Picture of David Dolinsky
David Dolinsky, C.P.A.,
Deputy Director for Emergency Administration & Finance Operations


Picture of Ajay Pillai
Ajay Pillai,
Deputy Director for Requisition Support Services

Javier Lopez
Javier Lopez,
Deputy Director for
Management Assurance


 Alexandra Shabelski
Alexandra Shabelski,
Deputy Director for

   Natalie Johnson
Natalie Johnson,
Deputy Director for
Budget Execution and Monitoring

Office of the Chief Operating Officer (COO):

Photo of Nikki Bratcher-Bowman
​Nikki Bratcher-Bowman, 
Chief Operating Officer
  Picture of Gretchen Michael
Gretchen Michael, J.D.,
Director of Communications​
  Picture of Stephen Saletta
Stephen Saletta, Ph.D.,
Director of Administrative

Picture of Kimberly Newman 
Kimberly Newman,
Director of Workforce Development




About ASPR

Submit an Inquiry


Watch, Listen, Subscribe

Facebook Exit Icon Twitter Exit Icon YouTube Exit Icon
Email via GovDelivery Exit Icon LinkedIn Exit Icon

Leadership Quick Links

  • This page last reviewed: August 29, 2018