#### **DRAFT AGENDA**

# NATIONAL BIODEFENSE SCIENCE BOARD (NBSB) AND CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION (CDC) OFFICE OF PUBLIC HEALTH PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE (OPHPR) BOARD OF SCIENTIFIC COUNSELORS (BSC) PUBLIC MEETING

#### **APRIL 3, 2013**

Building 19, Room 256
Roybal Campus, Tom Harkin Global Communication Center
1600 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 – 9:00 am – 12:15 pm (ET) Conf Call-in: 1-877-991-8831 AND Passcode: 7585786 #

### Wednesday, April 3

9:00 — 9:15	BSC: Welcome and Call to Order/ Review of FACA Conflict of
(15 minutes)	Interest and Roll Call
	Thomas Inglesby, MD; Chair, OPHPR BSC
	Samuel Groseclose, DVM, MPH; Designated Federal Official, OPHPR
	BSC and Associate Director for Science, OPHPR
9:15 — 9:30	NBSB: Welcome and Call to Order / Review of FACA Conflict of
(15 minutes)	Interest and Roll Call
(13 minutes)	
	John Parker, MD; Chair, NBSB
	CAPT Charlotte Spires, DVM, MPH; Designated Federal Official,
	Executive Director, NBSB
9:30 – 10:00	Strategic National Stockpile 2020: Introductory Remarks
(30 minutes)	RADM Nicole Lurie, MD, MSPH; Assistant Secretary for Preparedness
(50 minutes)	
	and Response, US Department of Health and Human Services
	Ali Khan, MD, MPH; Director, OPHPR

## Wednesday, April 3 (page 2)

10:00 — 10:45 (45 minutes)	Anticipated Responsibilities of the Strategic National Stockpile (SNS) in the Year 2020: An Examination with Recommendations.  A Joint Report from the National Biodefense Science Board and the Office of Public Health Preparedness and Response Board of Scientific Counselors  John Parker, MD; Chair, NBSB and Working Group Co-Chair Donald Burke, MD; BSC Member and Working Group Co-Chair
10:45 — 11:00	Break
11:00 — 11:45 (45 minutes)	Joint Question and Answer Session / Board Discussion  John Parker, MD; NBSB Chair and Working Group Co-Chair  Donald Burke, MD; BSC Member and Working Group Co-Chair
11:45 – 12:00 (15 minutes)	Public Comment Period  John Parker, MD; NBSB Chair and Working Group Co-Chair  Donald Burke, MD; BSC Member and Working Group Co-Chair
12:00 — 12:15 (15 minutes)	Joint Vote on SNS 2020 Report and Recommendations John Parker, MD; Chair, NBSB Thomas Inglesby, MD; Chair, OPHPR BSC
12:15	NBSB Closing Remarks and Adjourn (BSC continues till 3:15) John Parker, MD; Chair, NBSB