

NPRSB Public Meeting Summary Tuesday, June 26, 2018 8:30am-4:00pm EDT

NPRSB Members Present

Prabhavathi Fernandes, Ph.D. (Chair)
John Benitez, MD, MPH
Virginia Caine, MD
Mark Cicero, MD, FAAP
H. Dele Davies, MD, MSc, MHCM
Donald Gray Heppner, M.D., FACP, FASTMH, FRGS
Noreen Hynes, MD, MPH
Elizabeth Leffel, MD, MPH
David Schonfeld, MD, FAAP
Joelle Simpson, MD, MPH
Catherine Slemp, MD, MPH
Tammy Spain, Ph.D.

Retired NPRSB Members Present

Ross LeClaire, DVM, Ph.D., MSS (virtual) Eva Lee, PhD Kenneth Miller, MD, Ph.D.

Ex-Officio Members and Alternate Members Present

Sam Groseclose (virtual)

ASPR Staff Present

Maxine Kellman, DVM, Ph.D., PMP Belinda Green Sarah Verbofsky, MPA

Call to Order, Review of Federal Advisory Committee Conflict of Interest Rules, Introductions

Maxine Kellman, DVM, Ph.D., PMP, National Advisory Committees

Dr. Maxine Kellman was the designated federal official for this meeting, as NAC Executive Director CDR Jonathan White was serving as the incident commander for the reunification of separated families during the time of the public meetings. She welcomed NPRSB members, ASPR staff, and members of public to the meeting. She took a roll call of all NPRSB members present and reviewed the Federal Advisory Committee (FACA) conflict of interest rules.

Opening Remarks

Sally Phillips, Deputy Assistant Secretary and Director, ASPR Office of Policy and Planning

Dr. Phillips opened by thanking retiring NPRSB members: Drs. Steven Krug (retiring Chair), John Bradley, Christina Egan, Eva Lee, Ross LeClaire, and Kenneth Miller for their service and dedication to the Board. She also welcomed Dr. Prabha Fernandes as the new Chair, as well as incoming NPRSB members: Drs.

Carl Baum, John Benitez, Mark Cicero, H. Dele Davies, Elizabeth Leffel, David Schonfeld, and Joelle Simpson. She reflected on the past work and guidance of the NPRSB and looks forward to the board's continued invaluable contributions to the ASPR and to the Secretary.

Opening Remarks

Prabha Fernandes, Ph.D., NPRSB Chair

Dr. Prabha Fernandes, the incoming Chair of the NPRSB, welcomed everyone to the meeting and expressed optimism and excitement for the upcoming work of the Board and bringing new members into the fold.

Inauguration of Incoming NPRSB Members
Recognition of Retiring NPRSB Members
Introduction of Incoming Chair
Remarks on 21st Century Health Threats
Robert P. Kadlec, MD, MTM&H, MS
HHS Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response

Dr. Kadlec recognized all retiring NPRSB members: Drs. Steven Krug (retiring Chair), John Bradley, Christina Egan, Eva Lee, Ross LeClaire, and Kenneth Miller. He presented the two retiring members present, Eva Lee and Kenneth Miller, with ASPR Challenge Coins and thanked them for their service to the Board and their important contributions. He also welcomed incoming members: Drs. Carl Baum, John Benitez, Mark Cicero, H. Dele Davies, Elizabeth Leffel, David Schonfeld, and Joelle Simpson to the Board and said he looked forward to drawing upon their expertise and experience.

Dr. Kadlec then provided an update to the NPRSB on his four priorities to combat 21st century health threats: providing strong leadership, building a regional health response system, strengthening public health capabilities, and developing and maintain a robust MCM enterprise. He expressed gratitude to the Board in their support to accomplish these priorities and the recommendations they will provide in these areas.

Break

Swearing-in of Incoming NPRSB Members as Special Government Employees

DHHS ethics staffer Charles McEnerney performed the inauguration ceremony of incoming NPRSB members present: Dr. John Benitez, Dr. Mark Cicero, Dr. H. Dele Davies, Dr. Elizabeth Leffel, Dr. Joelle Simpson, and Dr. David Schonfeld.

Current Priorities and Challenges for BARDA

Gary L. Disbrow, Ph.D., Deputy Director, BARDA

Dr. Disbrow provided a briefing to the NPRSB on the current priorities and challenges for BARDA. He provided an overview of BARDA and its functions, the history and establishment of BARDA, and how it works with industry partners to develop medical countermeasures (MCMs) for use by the public in the event of an emergency.

Lunch

NPRSB Working Group Session 1 – Work group on Preparedness

Members of the NPRSB had a facilitated discussion on the current state, challenges, and opportunities for public health preparedness. They covered several topics, including:

- Physical resources and trainings needed for an effective disaster response
- The importance of communication (especially to/within communities)
- The significance of an effective MCM delivery system
- The importance of data collection, leveraging social media, resiliency, and preventing healthcare worker burnout

NPRSB Working Group Session 2 – Work group on Response

Members of the NPRSB had a facilitated discussion on the current state, challenges, and opportunities for public health response in the event of natural and man-made disasters. They addressed many topics, including:

- Implementation of modification on privacy and HIPAA rules
- Utilizing telemedicine to reach rural communities
- Gaining trust and buy-in from communities (e.g. churches as trusted messengers)
- Building public health infrastructure
- Determining how to handle the influx of patients in need

NPRSB Working Group Session 3 – Work group on Delivery of Medical Countermeasures

NPRSB members discussed the current challenges and opportunities for the delivery of medical countermeasures. They covered multiple topics, including:

- Last mile delivery of MCMs
- Just-in-time training
- How to integrate medical homes into MCM delivery
- Determining what is in the pipeline for MCMs
- Gaps in MCMs delivery
- Diversity can make it more difficult to communicate and how to build a network of trust and resilience
- Determining the scope of delivery

Following these three working group sessions, NPRSB members volunteered to participate in one of three working group subject areas moving forward: preparedness, response, and MCM delivery.

Closing Remarks

Prabhavathi B. Fernandes, Ph.D., NPRSB Chair

Dr. Fernandes thanked all for a productive day and expressed excitement about the following day's schedule and opportunity to work with the NPRSB's colleagues in the NACCD.

Adjournment

Maxine Kellman, DVM, Ph.D., PMP

Dr. Kellman acknowledged and read the public comment from Colleen A. Kraft, MD, MBA, FAAP, president of the AAP, thanking Dr. Steven Krug for his service as the NPRSB Chair. She then adjourned the meeting.