Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Regional Disaster Health Response System Key Elements (Text Version)

The illustration includes the five Regional Disaster Health Response System Key Elements as:

  • Regional: Large-scale interstate coordination and integration that can provide medical mutual aid across juridictions.

  • Responsive: Responding quickly to 21st century health security threats by providing quality mass clinical care, through telemedicine and mobile specialty care strike teams, and maintaining tracking of resources and patients.

  • Aware: Using interoperable data to collect and convey key information related to the operational/functional status of the health system before, during, and after an event.

  • Ready: Aligning incentives to make readiness an essential coomponent of healthcare delivery. Developing common Health Care Coalition (HCC) metrics and performance standards, based on trainings, excercises, and resources assessing HCCs to determine gaps and corrective actions.

  • Resourced: Modernized and improve federal programs like the National Disaster Medical System, the Medical Reserve Corps, and the Hospital Preparedness Program.

  • This page last reviewed: November 27, 2018