Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Appendix 2: List of Core and Additional HCC Member Types

HCC members are delineated in the 2017-2022 Health Care Preparedness and Response Capabilities.

  • Core HCC members must include, at a minimum, the following:
    • Acute care hospitals (a minimum of two)
    • EMS (including inter-facility and other non-EMS patient transport systems)
    • Emergency management agencies
    • Public health agencies

  • Additional HCC members include the following:
    • Behavioral health services and organizations
    • Community Emergency Response Team and Medical Reserve Corps
    • Dialysis centers and regional Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)-funded end-stage renal disease networks
    • Federal facilities (e.g., U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Centers, Indian Health Service facilities, military treatment facilities)      
    • Home health agencies (including home and community-based services)
    • Infrastructure companies (e.g., utility and communication companies)
    • Jurisdictional partners, including cities, counties, and tribes
    • Local chapters of health care professional organizations (e.g., medical society, professional society, hospital association)
    • Local public safety agencies (e.g., law enforcement and fire services)
    • Medical and device manufacturers and distributors
    • Non-governmental organizations (e.g., American Red Cross, voluntary organizations active in disaster, amateur radio operators, etc.)
    • Outpatient health care delivery (e.g., ambulatory care, clinics, community and tribal health centers, Federally Qualified Health Centers, urgent care centers, free standing emergency rooms, stand-alone surgery centers)
    • Primary care providers, including pediatric and women’s health care providers
    • Public or private payers (e.g., Medicare and insurance companies)
    • Schools and universities, including academic medical centers
    • Skilled nursing, nursing, and long-term care facilities
    • Support service providers (e.g., clinical laboratories, pharmacies, radiology, blood banks, poison control centers)
    • Other (e.g., child care services, dental clinics, social services, faith-based organizations)
    • Specialty patient referral centers (e.g., pediatric, burn, trauma, and psychiatric centers)

Urban and rural HCCs may have different membership compositions based on population characteristics, geography, and types of hazards. For example, in rural and frontier areas—where the distance between hospitals may exceed 50 miles and where the next closest hospitals are also critical access hospitals with limited services—tribal health centers, referral centers, or support services may play a more prominent role in the HCC.

<< Previous: Appendix 1 --------- Top of Page --------- Next: Appendix 3 >>

  • This page last reviewed: November 05, 2020