Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

BARDA Broad Agency Announcement Areas of Interest

BARDA is soliciting proposals for the advanced research and development of medical countermeasures (MCM) such as vaccines, diagnostics, therapeutics, and devices to address chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) threats; pandemic influenza; and emerging infectious diseases under the BARDA Broad Agency Announcement (BAA-18-100-SOL-00003). 

Under the BAA, BARDA is soliciting proposals that focus on research and development activities that relate to the following areas of interest.


Technical and Contracting Points of Contact by Area of Interest

Area of Interest

Technical POC

Contracting POC

1 - CBRN Vaccines

Amanda Zarrabian
Amanda.Zarrabian@hhs.gov

Carl Newman
Carl.Newman@hhs.gov

2 - Antitoxins and Therapeutic Proteins

Chia-Wei Tsai
Chia-Wei.Tsai@hhs.gov

Carl Newman
Carl.Newman@hhs.gov

3 - Antibacterials

Mark Albrecht
Mark.Albrecht@hhs.gov

Carl Newman
Carl.Newman@hhs.gov

4 - Radiological/Nuclear Threat MCM

Mary J. Homer
Mary.Homer@hhs.gov

Carl Newman
Carl.Newman@hhs.gov

5 - Chemical Threat MCM

Judith Wolfe Laney
Judith.Laney@hhs.gov

Carl Newman
Carl.Newman@hhs.gov

6 - Burn MCM

Narayan V. Iyer
Narayan.Iyer@hhs.gov

James Bowers
James.Bowers@hhs.gov

7 - Diagnostics

Mr. Rodney Wallace
Rodney.Wallace@hhs.gov

James Bowers
James.Bowers@hhs.gov

8 - Influenza and Emerging Infectious Diseases (IEID) Vaccines

Dr. Armen Donabedian
Armen.Donabedian@hhs.gov

Kevin Nilles
Kevin.Nilles@hhs.gov

9 - IEID Therapeutics

Kimberly Armstrong
Kimberly.Armstrong@hhs.gov

Kevin Nilles
Kevin.Nilles@hhs.gov

10 - Respiratory Protective Devices

Mr. Rodney Wallace
Rodney.Wallace@hhs.gov

Kevin Nilles
Kevin.Nilles@hhs.gov

11 - Ventilators

Mr. Rodney Wallace
Rodney.Wallace@hhs.gov

Kevin Nilles
Kevin.Nilles@hhs.gov

12 - MCM Production Platform Systems

Dr. Ruben Donis
Ruben.Donis@hhs.gov

To be determined.

13 - Modeling as an Enabling Technology for Influenza, Emerging Infectious Disease, and CBRN Threats

Dr. Jessica Appler
Jessica.Appler@hhs.gov

To be determined.

14 - Visual Analytics an Enabling Technology for Influenza, Emerging Infectious Disease, and CBRN Threats

Dr. Jessica Appler
Jessica.Appler@hhs.gov

To be determined.

15 - DRIVe: Solving Sepsis

Solving Sepsis
SolvingSepsis@hhs.gov

See Special Instructions

16 - Early Notification to Act, Control and Treat (ENACT)

ENACT
ENACT@hhs.gov

See Special Instructions 



BARDA Broad Agency Announcement

​​​​
  • This page last reviewed: August 06, 2019