Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip over global navigation links
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Recovery Policy Guidance Documents

Past large-scale recovery efforts have revealed critical challenges to building and sustaining activities around recovery. A wide range of federal policies, including Presidential Policy Directive 8 (PPD 8), the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) and the National Health Security Strategy (NHSS), emphasize the value of including the whole community in response and recovery operations.

The National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) and Federal Interagency Operations Plans (FIOP) are currently under development. The site will be updated with the new versions when they become available (approximately November 2015).

  • Presidential Policy Directive 8: PPD-8 is aimed at strengthening the security and resilience of the United States through systematic preparation for the threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the Nation. PPD-8 defined five mission areas—Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery—and directed the development of a series of policy and planning documents to enhance national  preparedness. As part of this effort, PPD-8 required the development of a National Planning System to integrate planning across all levels of government and with the private and nonprofit sectors  around key capabilities that can be mixed and matched, as needed, to provide an agile, flexible approach to prevent, protect, mitigate, respond, and recover.
  • National Disaster Recovery Framework: The NDRF provides guidance that enables effective recovery support to disaster-impacted States, Tribes and local jurisdictions. It provides a flexible structure that enables disaster recovery managers to operate in a unified and collaborative manner. It also focuses on how best to restore, redevelop and revitalize the health, social, economic, natural and environmental fabric of the community and build a more resilient Nation.  The NDRF applies to Stafford Act & Non-Stafford  Act disasters.
  • Recovery Federal Interagency Operational Plan (FIOP): The Recovery FIOP describes how the Federal Government delivers core capabilities for the Recovery Mission Area. It is an all-hazards plan that provides guidance for the implementation of the NDRF.
  • Recovery Support Functions: National Disaster Recovery Framework outlines six   Recovery Support Functions (RSFs): Community Planning and Capacity Building; Economic; Health and Social Services; Housing; Infrastructure Systems; and Natural and Cultural Resources.  Those RSFs provide structures that address different issues and promote coordination among state, local, tribal  and federal agencies, nongovernmental partners and stakeholders.
  • National Health Security Strategy: National health security is a state in which the Nation and its people are prepared for, protected from, and resilient in the face of health threats or incidents with potentially negative health consequences. NHSS Objective 8 describes how to incorporate post-incident health recovery into planning and response to promote assessment, education, partnerships, and scientific preparedness for health care, behavioral health care and human services.
  • HHS Disaster Behavioral Health Concept of Operations: This Concept of Operations plan (CONOPS) describes the conceptual framework and coordination for HHS federal-level behavioral health preparedness, response, and recovery for disasters and public health emergencies. The plan describes how HHS prepares for the behavioral health effects of a public health and medical emergency or disaster and transitions from normal day-to-day operations to coordinated, department-wide response and recovery activities.
  • HHS Disaster Human Services Concept of Operations: HHS Disaster Human Services Concept of Operations (CONOPS) provides the conceptual framework for coordination and guidance of HHS federal-level human services for preparedness, response, and recovery for disasters and public health emergencies.  The CONOPS describes how HHS transitions from normal operations of human services program delivery to a coordinated, Department-wide response to the human services elements of a public health and medical emergency.

  • This page last reviewed: October 07, 2016